Event Overview: New progress has emerged in the handling of the Initia chain security incident. Available information shows that the attack has caused Initia's L1 and Rollups to be suspended; the attacker minted additional tokens and cashed out approximately $2.6 million. South Korea's two major exchanges, Upbit and Bithumb, have suspended INIT deposits and withdrawals and issued investment warnings. The incident involves on-chain security, abnormal token supply, and exchange risk controls, making it the project security incident with the highest level of information completeness in the current source material.
Attack Facts: The core of this incident is the token minting that occurred after the Initia chain was attacked. The source material shows that the attacker minted additional tokens through the attack and has cashed out approximately $2.6 million. At the same time, Initia's L1 and Rollups are in a suspended state, indicating that the impact has extended from the single-asset level to the network operation level. However, publicly available information has not disclosed the specific number of minted tokens, the exact time of the attack, the attack path, or a complete list of affected Rollups, so judgments on the technical details of the incident still require further disclosure.
Exchange Response: After the security incident, Upbit and Bithumb suspended INIT deposits and withdrawals. The two South Korean exchanges simultaneously issued investment warnings, reminding the market to pay attention to INIT-related risks. Based on available information, suspending deposits and withdrawals is a channel isolation measure taken by the exchanges in response to on-chain anomalies, directly affecting transfers of INIT into and out of centralized trading platforms. The investment warnings mean that the exchanges have included INIT among risk assets requiring additional attention. The source material does not state whether the two exchanges have suspended INIT spot trading or disclose the specific conditions for resuming deposits and withdrawals.
Risk Transmission: From the confirmed facts, the risk transmission path is relatively clear: an attack occurred on the Initia chain accompanied by token minting; L1 and Rollups were then suspended; the attacker cashed out approximately $2.6 million; and Upbit and Bithumb suspended INIT deposits and withdrawals and issued investment warnings. This path indicates that the incident is not merely price volatility or a change in market sentiment, but a multi-stage risk response triggered by an on-chain security anomaly. For the market, the most direct impact is concentrated on INIT's on-chain liquidity and exchange-channel liquidity.
Scope of Impact: The incident involves Initia's main chain, Rollups, and centralized exchange channels. The suspension of L1 and Rollups affects network operations and related on-chain activities; the attacker's token minting and cash-out relate to token supply and fund security; and Upbit and Bithumb's suspension of deposits and withdrawals and issuance of investment warnings extend the impact to South Korean trading channels. These three facts constitute the main basis for assessing the incident's impact. Because the source material does not disclose the scale of minted tokens, it is currently impossible to quantify the specific impact of changes in token supply on the INIT market.
Token Supply Observations: Since the attacker has minted additional tokens and cashed out, INIT's supply metrics have become a market focus. The source material only provides the cash-out amount of approximately $2.6 million and does not provide the number of minted tokens or the change in total supply after minting. Therefore, it is not possible to calculate dilution ratios or fully assess the impact on the token economic model based on this information. Follow-up should be based on project disclosures and on-chain data.
Information Gaps: At present, the source material does not provide the specific time of the attack, the number of minted tokens, the attacker's identity, the cash-out channels, the list of affected Rollups, or the project team's detailed plans to recover funds or repair the network. The absence of these key details makes it difficult for the market to make a complete judgment on the total loss, changes in INIT supply, and the timeline for ecosystem recovery. The only confirmed amount at this stage is the attacker's cash-out of approximately $2.6 million; other loss metrics remain unclear.
Handling Priorities: The actions disclosed so far are concentrated on chain-level suspension and exchange-channel restrictions. The suspension of L1 and Rollups means the network must first complete state confirmation and risk isolation before it can enter a recovery phase; the exchanges' suspension of deposits and withdrawals is intended to avoid new uncertainties from cross-platform asset flows while on-chain status remains unclear. The source material does not show that the project team has restored the network or that the exchanges have resumed deposits and withdrawals, so the incident remains in the handling stage.
Market Focus: Going forward, the market should focus on the recovery of Initia L1 and Rollups, the conditions for resuming INIT deposits and withdrawals, whether Upbit and Bithumb update their investment warnings, where the attacker's cashed-out funds go, and whether the project team discloses a plan for handling the minted tokens. These developments will determine the actual scope of the incident's impact on the Initia network and INIT trading channels. Before more announcements and on-chain information emerge, the incident remains in the handling and information disclosure stage.



.jpg)